About the Award

The Scientific Committee of the World ISBS Congress nominates one or more candidates for the Johann Wilhelm Ritter Award based on oral congress presentations. The jury decides by a majority vote


The Johann Wilhelm Ritter Award has a 2,000 Euro value and consists of:

  1. Personal Honorary JWR Certificate
  2. Invitation as Plenary Speaker at the forthcoming ISBS World Conference
    • (900 Euro support for travel expenses and congress registration)
  3. Free ISBS Membership for one year (value 100 Euro)
  4. Cash 1,000 Euro as Scientific Research Award


Members of the 2016 Jury:

Prof. Joachim Fluhr (Scientific Committee ISBS2016)
Dr. Stephan El Gammal (Treasurer ISBS)
Prof. Karsten König (CEO JenLab, sponsor)
Prof. Louis Monteiro Rodrigues (Chairman ISBS2016)
Dr. Stacy Hawkins (Secretary ISBS)
Dr. Klaus-P. Wilhelm (Chairman ISBS)


About the Society for Biophysics and Imaging of the Skin ISBS

The global members of the society share the common interest in the development, use, and spread of knowledge on biophysics and imaging of skin. Conferences take place on a two-year schedule (first in Miami at 1976, past in Lisbon at 2016, next in San Diego at 2018 and Berlin at 2020).

ISBS chairman is Dr. Querleux from L’Oreal, France. Official journal of the ISBS is „Skin Research and Technology“ (editor: Dr. Serup, Denmark).




About the sponsor JenLab GmbH

The company JenLab GmbH provides femtosecond laser technology for biomedicine. JenLab pioneered high-resolution in vivo histology of skin by multiphoton tomography. The company has facilities in Berlin and Jena. CEO is Dr. König, Germany.